Procedural mesh generation

Hi,

I’m new to USD so let me know if I’m posting under the wrong category.

I’m currently trying to port a procedural mesh generator to use USD/Hydra (targeting usd-23.08). Essentially, we have a procedural engine capable of generating geometry in the form of meshes (points + topology + point attributes). The engine takes in a set of parameters and outputs a mesh. The meshes can be fairly large, so we currently use an Arnold procedural plug-in to create the meshes at render-time, saving the need to transfer huge files to the render farm. However, this approach is obviously DCC-specific (to Arnold in this case), which is why we are looking to implement something similar for USD/Hydra.

Two different approaches have been tried so far:

(1) Inspired by Paolo Emilio Selva’s Siggraph 2023 presentation (starts at 0:52:00) we implemented a custom UsdGeomGprim since we want to provide extent as well as represent our procedural parameters. This follows the examples, https://github.com/wetadigital/USDPluginExamples, provided by Weta. Next, we implemented a custom UsdImagingGprimAdapter with the idea that our adapter can read the parameters from our custom prim and generate a suitable mesh. While this works in theory, there are some practical issues. For instance, we need to implement both GetPoints and GetTopology on our adapter. In our case this means that our engine generates the procedural mesh twice, once to provide points and a second time to provide topology. The question here is: Is there a way to generate our procedural mesh only once and have it cached somewhere so that we can answer point/topology queries using the cached data? My understanding of the UsdImagingGprimAdapter interface is rudimentary at this time so I’m hoping there is a solution to this problem, since generating points together with topology is a common strategy.